When Beauty Takes A Backseat

There are many times when beauty has to take a backseat whether I like it or not – these times are far and few between.  These last few days can be added to the collection…

First, I woke up on Tuesday with a stye (or however you spell it) in my eye, rendering my eyelid puffy, which is making  my eye look half closed.  I havent been wearing eye makeup for two reasons a. I dont want to irritate the eye and b. I dont want to contaminate my makeup.  Therefore, my makeup routine has been mineral powder foundation and concealer along with some bronzer and/or blush. 

Now, I’m not lucky enough to be one of those people that looks great with no makeup.  No, I NEED MY EYE MAKEUP!  No matter what I’ve done over the last 3 days, I just dont look put together (or awake) without my eye makeup.  It doesnt help that my 9 month old has been teething horribly and getting me up at least 3 times during the night.  The combo of puffy eye/exhaustion is really just creating one big mess and causing people to stare at me at work – I guess thats how I know its bad.

And because it keeps getting better, in order to avoid waking up my son the last few mornings, I havent been blow drying my hair.  Lets just say the air-dried/tousled look isnt my best.

To wrap-up this rant, my morning beauty routine has taken a backseat for the last few days and its affecting me in more ways than one.  I’m just off – I dont feel like me and its keeping me from running at 100% this week.  I think it finally caught up with me last night when I just gave up on trying to stay on top of things.  “I’ll catch up later,” I told myself.  And I will.        

Tell me, my fellow moms – does something so simple as veering from your normal morning routine put you in a funk?  Or am I the only one that feels this way?  Maybe its something else?

ALSO!  Stay tuned for my first ‘Does It Really Work’ test.  Pics to be included.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikia
    Jul 28, 2010 @ 22:35:35

    haha! I love this. I went through this exact same thing. Its gotten a little better, but it never goes back to how it used to be.
    Great blog, keep up the good work!

    Reply

  2. jendroz18
    Jul 29, 2010 @ 12:23:55

    Hi Nikia!
    Thanks for stopping by and checking out the blog, glad you like it! I pray it gets a little easier in 18 years! Wishful thinking I guess.

    Being a mom is crazy. People warn you and try to tell you but until your in it you just have no clue. Someone needs to video tape the not so cute moments! Like at 2 and then 5 am when my son was up this morning. And at 5 he was ready to play. I hope this isnt the start of something new…

    Be sure to check back. Some posts will be rants (like this one) but I really am trying to stick to my goal of providing true and honest reviews.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

