Holla for Holo!

It caught the corner of my eye and I was mesmerized by the bottle alone – absolutely beautiful.  So pretty, I’m tempted to leave it on my desk at work.  On Friday I picked up a bottle of Milani “Hi-Res” from their 3-D Holographic collection and have been dying to glam-up my nails ever since. 

First, I kept staring at my nails all morning thinking ‘I’ve seen this before, I’ve seen this before’ and then it hit me – if you took Mira Sorvino’s dress in the reunion scene of “Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion” and liquified it, this would be a purple version.  It’s a gorgeous, umm, holographic purple that comes to life when light hits.

It is a light violet with 2 coats and the micro-glitter/dust in it is a smooth finish even without topcoat.  There is no visible nail with 2 coats – this is pure color and sparkle.  The shade remains purple, but when light hits the nails at different angles the glitter comes to life – it reminds me of those stickers you used to get out of a machine for a quarter in the food store.  As for application, the color went on smooth and was not clumpy at all.

I was afraid it would be a bit child-like for work, but it’s very subtle considering all the glitter flecks (your nail really is covered).  I took pics both outside in the sun and inside under lights and just could not get the camera to catch the true beauty of this shade, but I’m also wondering if my top coat has something to do with it (I used Sally Hansen No Chip Acrylic Top Coat).  Although the polish dries shiny on its own, the top coat really amps up the shine/sparkle factor here (it also makes any drop of light super reflective).  I have two pics for you – one outside in the sunlight and one inside. 

Overall I am in love with this.  I find I keep looking down at my nails and wiggling them to see the glitter change color.  The smooth application and lack of grit (common in glitters) only add to my love. 

Let me know what you think!

I purchased my bottle of Milani Hi-Res at CVS.  You can also check out the Milani site for other goodies and where to purchase: http://www.milanicosmetics.com

              

        

Leave a Reply

