Mad for Mad As A Hatter

O.P.I Mad As A Hatter.  If you’re a lacquer-saavy chick you know exactly what I’m talking about.  It is a highly coveted bottle of polish and one I have been dying to get my sparkle starved fingers on.  I was a bit late on this one (thanks to the craziness that was adjusting to life as a working mom) and have been searching high and low.  I’ve called salons – about 20 in my area, considered bidding on eBay, and almost purchased it for $17.99 on Amazon (and that didn’t include shipping).  But considering financial times are rough, there was just no justifying this.  And then, I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before…

MakeupAlley.com – a beauty junkies best source.  I checked out their swap board and lo and behold a bunch of bottles up for swap.  I wasnt too hopeful, though, as I really don’t have anything I wanted to swap.  Let the insanity begin… 

I messaged a member who had a bottle up for grabs and offered to buy something of her choice to swap as long as it was comparable in price.  I know, I know – I went and purchased a brand new product for a used bottle of polish.  But this swapper had good reviews and had swapped polishes before so I was confident she meant it when she said she used it once.  So you would think I’d be the happiest camper – all I have to do is go out and buy the product, ship it, and I get my much coveted bottle of sparkle.

This is where the insanity goes from ‘Jen, your crazy’ to ‘are you flipping kidding me Jen’.  The item I needed to get was a MAC eyeshadow pan refill…seemingly easy.  Except they are only sold in MAC stores, not department stores with a MAC counter.  So the only mall near me with a MAC store is close to my home, not so close to work (see note below as to why this matters).  So I set out on my lunch yesterday and actually thought I could travel 20 miles to the mall, navigate through the mall to the store, and travel 20 miles back to work.  I was delusional – blinded by the glitter of Mad As A Hatter. 

Needless to say it took an hour and half, a lot of gas, and running a few tolls on the GSP to accomplish this mission.  I was exhausted when I got back to work and daydreamed of my pillow.  BUT!  I got the eyeshadow and will be going on my lunch today to the UPS store (luckily right down the road) to ship it out.  So hopefully in about a week I should have my bottle of glitter. 

I will update once I receive my bottle and will post some pics!  I’ll even include a shot of the Franken polish for comparison. 

And your probably wondering why I went through all this for one bottle of polish.  Well its simple.  I sit at a desk crunching numbers all day in my cube of 4 gray walls.  When I look down and see my pretty little lacquered fingers, it makes me feel better and puts a smile on my face.  When I’m driving in bumper to bumper traffic down Rt. 17 and the sun catches the sparkle or shimmer of my nails, it makes me smile.  And probably the best part – my son is fascinated by my shiny nails.  He can spend 10 minutes just looking at them and playing with my fingers (try getting a 9 month old to sit still for 10 minutes and you’ll see the real beauty).  Wait till he sees the sparkle of Mad As A Hatter…

Note – the reason proximity to my job matters is because I love my family and refuse to let my obsession keep me from them.  After I pick up my son from daycare I don’t want to drag him around looking for a bottle of polish or a certain blush color – it’s just not fair to him.  On nights when my husband is home (which isn’t many), I don’t want to spend my time running around like a nut – I’d rather be home with him and our son.  Therefore, unless it is completely impossible, I try to limit my insanity to my lunch hour.

Leave a Reply

