Hello world!

Welcome to my blog! 

I’ve gone back and forth for a while about starting one because a. there seems to be an infinite number already and b. what would I talk about that isn’t already talked about?

So I figure a. if everyone else can have one, I can have one too and b. I’ll talk about anything I want and hopefully people will just love me.

But I get the feeling I’ll spend most days ranting about my adventures in beauty land.  And I’ll tell you why…

I really am just an ordinary girl – I’m a wife (married 3 years in September), a new mom (October 2009), and a worker bee (financial analyst by day, group fitness instructor/personal trainer by night).  My life is not perfect and pretty – I have my own financial woes, I’m adjusting to life as a mom (still), and most days I am just trying to survive.

What I try to do each day is be true to myself – Jen – the girl I was before I was a wife and mom.  I’ve always been a girl who loves makeup, manicures, pedicures, and anything else beauty related.  So when life is crazy and I just want to run out the door, I find something makeup/nail/hair/skin related to muse/obsess over… 

A few months ago I was craving eyeshadow of all sorts.  A few weeks ago, face masks.  This week?  Nail polish.  And you know what I really think it is?  There was a time when I used to be able to go out and buy pretty much whatever I wanted (pre-marriage, pre-baby) and now?  Not so much.  Once upon a time I would drop $150 on a shirt and pants like it was nothing.  Now?  Not so much.  But a $3 bottle of nail polish?  A $4 face mask?  Now we’re talking!  The practical side of me says (and most people would say) ‘well do that 25 times and you can get a shirt’.  Realistically, though, am I going to save $3 or $4 a week?  Probably not.  The instant gratification of being able to run out on lunch and buy a new product and then pamper myself makes everything better, even if for just a moment (until the baby cries while I’m applying a second coat of polish).

Leave a Reply

